Day to Night Makeup

There are often times when I need my makeup to last all day and all night. Transitioning day makeup to night makeup can be simple with just a few additional products. So after a day in the office, spare five minutes to make your makeup cocktail hour ready!

Day to night

In the morning, I start by applying a primer to my face. This will make your base last longer and look fresher throughout the day. I like to use my Smashbox Primer Water. Unlike traditional primers this comes in a spray bottle form. This is great because you can also use it to set your finished makeup look.

Following this, it is important to apply a long-lasting foundation so it stays put all day. I used Clinique Beyond Perfecting Foundation, followed by Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer to cover any blemishes. To give the face a bit of colour, add your favourite blush or bronzer to your cheeks. I used Milani’s blush in Coral Cove.

When I want my eye makeup to last, I always make sure I apply an eye shadow primer. I like to use Mac Paint Pot in the shade Soft Ochre as it has a skin like colour that camouflages any redness on the eyelid, while making eye shadows last. On top of your primer apply your eye shadow. I used a soft rose gold colour on the lid, a medium brown in the crease and a cream colour on the brow bone. These shades were from The Balm’s Nude Tude palette.

I always fill in my brows as they are rather sparse, but (as with all the other steps) please feel free to skip this one if you are lucky enough to have full beautiful brows! I used MUA eye shadow in shade 19 on a small angled brush to fill in any gaps.

To finish off my day look I apply a nude lipstick or gloss. I used Nars Audacious lipstick in the shade Raquel.

For giving your makeup an extra something for the night, I start by spot concealing any areas that need an extra bit of coverage. Following this, I top up the blush I applied earlier on in the day and use a highlighter along the high points of my cheeks. I used MUA Highlighter in White Gold.

I then use a brow gel to set my brows in place and to give them a neater appearance. L’oreal Brow Artist Plumper is a good one to use as it adds a little bit of colour and fullness to brows. To give eyes extra definition, apply eyeliner to the top lash line. I like to use Bourjois Pinceau Liquid Eyeliner, however if you don’t feel comfortable applying liquid eyeliner then use a pencil or dark eye shadow.

To complete my night makeup I use a bright colour lipstick. I feel like this always gives the impression you have put a lot of effort into your makeup without doing a lot! I used Revlon’s Colourburst Lacquer Balm in the shade Whimsical.

8 thoughts on “Day to Night Makeup

Leave a Reply

