Affordable Makeup Haul

wpid-wp-1408095737301.jpeg

Queen of dupes, Makeup Revolution, was my first port of call on a recent drugstore beauty shopping trip to Cardiff. The recently opened Superdrug Beauty Studio has a whole host of affordable makeup brands, including my favourite, freshly discovered brand, Makeup Revolution. I had seen the ‘I love chocolate’ eyeshadow palette previously (which is a perfect dupe for the Too Faced chocolate bar palette!) and had recommended it to friends, but as I already had the Too Faced palette I didn’t invest. However, this time I couldn’t resist their other chocolate palette ‘Death by chocolate’. This offers 16 slightly more cool toned shades, which are incredibly pigmented, especially for the £7.99 price tag!

Next up, as a fan of a simple matte eye with winged liner, I decided to pick up the Redemption Essential Mattes palette for £4. I was very pleasantly surprised with highly pigmented shadows, as matte shadows can often lack punch. Lastly, from Makeup Revolution I got the Redemption Hot Smoked palette (£4), which had a lot of shades that resembled those in the Urban Decay Smoked palette. Again, I was amazed with the pigmentation and shade range and can’t wait to try them all out on the lids! I’m definitely going to be going back to purchase the rest of the Redemption palette range, for £4, you really can’t beat it!

Essential Mattes Palette

Essential Mattes Palette

 

Hot Smoked Palette

Hot Smoked Palette

Next, I took a browse at the Sleek cosmetics stand and picked up two of their lipsticks in the sheen formula (£4.99 each). I went for more nude, ‘my lips but better’ shades including Liqueur (a mauve, natural nude that doesn’t wash your lips out and has a slight shimmer to it) and Barely There (a more coral nude that goes nicely with warm toned eye looks and blushes). I was impressed with the sheen formula as it didn’t come off sheer, had good pigmentation and was creamy and smooth on the lips.

L-R Liqueur, Barely There

L-R Liqueur, Barely There

 

Finally, I made a stop at Wilko since discovering that they now stock Essence cosmetics and had a 3 for 2 offer on. Having only  tried a couple of Essence products previously, I picked out six products to try. First off, I noticed they had an impressive range of nail care products including at home gel nail sets, nail art equipment and so on. I decided to pick up the Caring nail oil (£2), which claims to nourish nails and improve growth. I’ve only applied this a handful of times so far, but my nails do seem to be less brittle and more shiny. Plus, I love the smell of this, it’s like orange flavoured sweets! From the nail range, I also picked up the express dry drops (£2). I haven’t tried these yet, but I’m hoping this will help out with my lack of patience when waiting for my nail polish to dry!

wpid-wp-1408095832359.jpeg

I got two of the 3D duo eyeshadows (£2.80 each), one in the shade ‘Irresistible fox-trott’ which is a peach and a copper colour. I like these two colours mixed together as it creates a very summertime appropriate shimmery warm peach. The other shade ‘Irresistible caramel cream’ contains a brown/bronze and a champagne tone, which when swirled together gives a good everyday neutral shimmer.

I then picked up the I ❤ extreme mascara (£2.80). I heard good things about this in the past, so I wanted to give it a try. When looking for mascara, I want a formula and brush that separates and defines lashes while adding length, and this mascara seems to do just the job!

Lastly, I got one of the XXXL shine lip glosses in ‘Twinkle Twinkle’ (£1.80). This shade comes off almost clear on the lips, but on closer inspection the pink shimmer is visible. This makes lips look very glossy and full, and is fairly long lasting, without feeling sticky. And again, I’m a fan of the sweet scent!

So, overall it was a pretty successful shop! This drugstore haul came in at under £37 for 2 lipsticks, 1 mascara, 1 lipgloss, 2 nail care items and 42 eyeshadow shades (a little excessive, I know!!)

6 thoughts on “Affordable Makeup Haul

Leave a Reply

